P.E.I. Mussels with spicy fennel broth 

3 lbs. of P.E.I. Mussels.

Aromatics:

1 Shallot bulb (75 grams) – minced

2 Cherry peppers – brunoise

1 large fennel – julienned 

Flat leaf parsley – picked

Broth:

Clam stock – (16 oz)  I got the brand Bar Harbor

Fish sauce – 2 tbsp. – I use the brand Red Boat 

Mirin – 1 tbsp.

Yuzu – 2 tbsp.

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 7 minutes 

Difficulty: novice

This is a relatively easy dish to prepare. Most people would overcook bivalves, and it is not a pleasant experience. 

They can be chewy or they would shrink up and there’s nothing enjoyable about the dish.

I love mussels. If I can eat them everyday, I would. My favorite gastro pub snack is Moules frites. 

I thought of this dish to be lighter and brighter. The ingredients worked so well together and is not at all expensive. 

I’m a local cook in the Bay Area, and was conceptualizing a dish over my free time. I visited Tokyo Fish Market in Berkeley and saw these wonderful P.E.I. mussels.

They were $3.49/lb. I said I would get 4 lbs., but due to my anxiety issues, I could only wait for them give me 3 lbs. 

Note: please get your mussels from reputable markets. Always remember its shelf life. I asked for ice after they weighed my order. 

I love flavors that punches you like Mike Tyson. It hurts, and it hurts like hell. That was not the thought process here. 

This had medium spicyness level, the broth had depth and the fennel and fresh picked parsley gave contrast. The complex citrus flavor of the yuzu and the sweetness of the mirin held up to the aromatics. 

The method:

Using a shallow pan that can fit your mussels.

About two tbsp. of olive oil (not evoo). Let the shallots sing. Leave it at slightly lower than medium low for a minute. It will change color a little bit, but do not brown.

Crank up to medium high and add the cherry peppers. Saute for 20 seconds. Then add the stock. Add the fish sauce (to taste – mine was 2 tbsp.), then the mirin. 

Let it simmer boil, then bring it down to a rolling boil. This will happen when you turn up to max heat for 10 seconds then bring it back down to medium high. 

Now add the mussels. Cover until they open. 

Mine took about 5 minutes. 

Turn off the heat them add the fennel. 

Mix it. 

Add the yuzu.

Mix it.

Add the parsley.

Serve while hot.

Note:

Cooking it this way makes you taste the last things you added. Its the most prominent flavors.

Enjoy!!!

Oh, discard dead mussels please

 …..

You can use this for clams, cockles or crustaceans, like crabs, lobsters, crayfish and shrimp. Just omit the fennel and add something more appropriate like green onion (chives), and sea beans. Seasonal snap peas would work as well or fava beans and edamame.

Visit my gallery 

Www.instagram.com/theoddcook

Leave a comment